Indians are now debating the merits of the ECR and ECNR passports. The ECR and ECNR passports leave many individuals scratching their heads. How can I tell whether or not I have a passport that is valid for the ECNR or the ECR? As a result, it is essential to know your passport classifications in order to prevent any problem when flying.

What is ECR passport? 

Class 10 is the minimum requirement for ECR. Because of this, your passport will be put in the category known as ECR, which stands for "emigration check required."

It implies that every time you leave India, you must acquire permission from the passport immigration office. The ECR passport page will have a single stamp.

ECR is plainly visible on the stamp (Emigration Check Required). In order to travel to the following countries, you need an ECR passport status: Saudi Arabia, Qatar, UAE, Oman, Kuwait; Afghanistan; Bahrain; Brunei; Indonesia; Malaysia; Iraq; Jordan; Lebanon; Libya; Sudan; Syria; Yemen.

No emigration permission is needed if you're going to any of the listed nations for anything other than work (exchange visits, business, or anything else).

What is ECNR passport? 

Passport applications ask for information such as if you have your high school diploma or 10th grader's equivalent.

ECNR will be your default status. People using ECNR passports don't have to acquire permission from the immigration office every time they travel outside of India.

The suspension of ECRS was lifted by the Indian government on October 1st, 2007. Emigration Check Required (ECNR) is stamped on the passport of an applicant who is ineligible for ECNR.

How to check you have ECR or ECNR passport?

How to find out whether your Indian passport has an ECNR stamp - If you're a Class 10th-grader, you're automatically in the ECNR category; if you're not, you'll be in the ECR category when you apply for a passport. On the inside of your passport, the word "Emigration Check Required" will appear.

●    Locate the stamp in your passport.
●    When you're finished, your stamp will look like this: ECR-passport
●    A passport stamp with the ECR designation indicates that the holder is a member of the European Economic Area.

If so, what is your Non-ECR (ECNR) Category?

An Indian government agency has designated some persons as "Emigration Check Required" (ECR) in order to safeguard them from being transported abroad and abused by others. Non-Emigration Check Required (Non-ECR) is the most common category for citizens who are not working-age, are not illiterate, or are well-educated.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *